Vietnam to test-run first alumina plant in early Q2-report

Up to 99 percent of work has now been completed at the Tan Rai plant owned by the National Coal and Mineral Industries Group (Vinacomin).

Industry and Trade Minister Vu Huy Hoang, who visited the site in the central highland province of Lam Dong in early March, had asked the alumina plant operator to test-run the facility in April, Vinacomin said on its website.

Vinacomin has forecast alumina output at the $ 460 million Tan Rai plant at 300,000 tonnes this year, around half its projected annual capacity, ramping up to 500,000 tonnes in 2013 and 650,000 tonnes in 2014.

Read more

Vietnam’s President Truong Tan San to visit India, Sri Lanka

Vietnam President on India visit next week

It’s a relationship that appears to be going from strength to strength.

So less than a month after India’s foreign minister S.M. Krishna was in Hanoi on a bilateral visit, New Delhi is now readying itself for the arrival of Vietnamese President Truong Tan Sang, who will be here next week.

The visit is being seen as an important one given the close ties between the two countries which were described as “acquiring momentum, greater depth” by India’s foreign ministry spokesperson as recently in September. Indeed, in 2007 the two countries had inked a strategic partnersip agreement.

Read more

Vietnam’s President Truong Tan San will make a state visit to Singapore from Sep 26-28

SINGAPORE. Sep 25, 2011. Vietnam’s President Truong Tan Sang will make a state visit to Singapore from September 26-28.

Read more

Truong Tan Sang elected State President of Vietnam

HANOI, Jul 26, 2011. Truong Tan Sang was elected Vietnam’s State President of the 2011-2016 tenure at the 13th National Assembly’s sitting on Monday afternoon with a vote of 97.4%.

Sang was born in 1949 in My Hanh Commune, Duc Hoa District in the Mekong Delta’s Long An Province. He has a bachelor degree in law.

In 1991, he was elected member of the Party’s Central Committee for the seventh Congress and served in this post for five consecutive tenures. He was member of the Politburo in four consecutive terms of the 8th, 9th, 10th and 11th congresses.

Read more